In which atrocious photography maligns a truly delicious dessert

So this story, I guess, begins a while ago.

About two weeks ago, I had some vanilla beans, and some butter, and some sugar, and I made vanilla butter. The caviar of one vanilla bean, one stick of unsalted butter, and a quarter cup of sugar mixed together, then stuck in the fridge.

And then I got some blackberries, and some pears, and I felt like making something.

So I went online and searched way too many recipes and couldn’t find anything I really loved the idea of, so I combined ideas from a few things I saw, and then came up with this.

With a slightly modified pastry dough grabbed from Smitten Kitchen, and a modified filling recipe from Savour Faire, I came up with what has to be some seriously delicious dessert. I know it looks mildly disgusting, but it tastes so good I’ve had two slices since it came out of the oven, before I even got it together enough to take pictures.

So, without further ado, here’s my recipe:

 Blackberry-Pear Galette

Pastry Dough

  • 1 and 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 stick butter
  • 1 vanilla bean
  • 1/4 c sugar
  • 1/4 c sour cream
  • 1/4 c cold water
  • juice of 1/2 of a lemon

Filling

  • 12 oz. Blackberries
  • 1 pear, sliced
  • 1/4 c heavy cream or half-and-half
  • 1/4 c sugar
  • juice of 1/2 a lemon

If you don’t have vanilla bean butter (because you’re not crazy like me), you can just mix the sugar, vanilla, water, lemon juice, and sour cream together when you’re preparing the dough.

I also rolled my dough out between two pieces of parchment paper, and then refrigerated the resulting circle for a few hours. I’m pretty new to this whole dough-rolling pastry stuff (I usually go the cakes-and-cupcakes route for desserts) but this seemed to work pretty well. I also used an egg wash to seal the corners of the galette together.

Baked at 400 degrees for about thirty minutes, and eaten with vanilla ice cream- it tastes amazing.

 

About Nicole

I read, I knit, I cook, I farm. Lots of homebody activities for an unemployed homebody.
This entry was posted in Dessert, Food and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

